NEW! Game Concept

Hello again.

I know It has been a while since my last update, and I’m really, really sorry for that, but I’m back, and my holidays have just started, so I am hoping to have lots of material to offer. So, whithout further hype, here comes what I’ve been working on for this long time.

New Game Concept?

Part of game design (or any design, for that matter) is recognizing bad ideas, and having the courage to drop them as early as you know how bad it is. The previous game idea, the critique about the grinding mechanic, had major flaws. I was harder to implement than I thought, the conveyance of the message was… complex. And also, GrindQuest already does it, better than I could ever do. Therefore, I decided to drop (or at least file) the idea, and begin anew.

That said, I am glad to present… The new game idea!

A puzzle in a square grid

The new game idea is of a simple puzzle in a grid. It is very basic, as I stripped away all the rules I could in order to sinplify as much as I culd, while still keeping the core mechanic that I wanted to explore. These are the rules that pretty much define the mechanics of the game. Please read through all of it to get a general idea, because the individual rules are not going to make any sense by themselves.

Slick Puzzle (working title)

Goal

The player must reach the “endsquare” of the level (a special square in the grid).

– The switches are solid squares in the grid, with which the player has to collide.

– In order to deavticate a switch, the player must collide with it n times, where n is any whole positive number (1, 2, 3…), taht will be prevoiusly set in the level design.

– That “endsquare” won’t be revealed until all the switches are deactivated.

– The level ends when the player opens the “endsquare” and collides with it in any direction.

The world

– All levels are a 2D square grid.

– The player, the walls (stratic squares through which the player cannot pass), the switches and the “endsquare” are all full squares if that grid.

– The grid is 6 squares wide and 10 squares high.

Movement

– The player can move oither left, right, up or down.

– The movement will always be measured in full squares. It is not possible to end the movement mid-square.

– Once the player starts moving in a direction, the movement must continue until it hits a wall, a switch or the “endsquare”, and the corresponding effects apply. This is the core mechanic that I want to explore with the game, the rest is just the simplest setting that I’ve been able to imagine in order to be able to play it.

Optional rules (subject to playtesting)

These rules are just ideas that come into my mind, that will add more complexity to the game. W’hether they will add more fun or not, is a subject for playtesting.

– If a switch is deactivated, will the player pass through it?

– Are there special squares that change the direction of the movement (something like this [>>] or this [<<]) ?

– Are the width or the height of the level variable from level to level?

– Are there any other special squares?

Thanks for reading

Thank you for making it this far into the post. I know that this might be a little boring, but it was necessary. once started playing, the game is VERY simple to learn.

Future posts

In the next post, I will be talking about the prototyping process, the advantages that non-digital has over digital prototyping, and pictures of my papaer prototype for the game (which took me no more than an hour).

 

Stay tuned, there certainly is great stuff coming. I feel like I’m learning with every second I think about game design, and that (I hope) can only add to the content of this blog.

 

 

Leave a Reply

